TalkingParents Cost in 2026: Plans, Free Tier and Alternatives

SplitDay Team 9 min read

This guide is general information, not legal advice. Custody rules differ by state and country; check with a family-law professional for your situation.

App comparison Pricing TalkingParents
A quiet home office desk with a landline phone, a notepad and a two-colour month calendar pinned to the wall

TalkingParents costs $7, $16 or $32 per parent per month across three plans — Essentials, Enhanced and Ultimate — with an annual option that saves 8%. The free tier retired on 30 March 2026, so there is no longer a no-cost plan, though fee waivers are offered for financial hardship and for domestic-violence situations. It is built around recorded, unalterable communication rather than around a calendar. Prices read from TalkingParents' own pricing page, verified 25 August 2026 and re-checked 6 September 2026.

TalkingParents plans and prices

PlanPer parent, per monthAccountable CallingStorageWhat the tier adds
Essentials$730 minutes a month1 GBSecure messaging, Shared Calendar, Info Library and Personal Journal (all plans), 4% payment fee
Enhanced$1660 minutes a month15 GBUnlimited PDF records, 3% payment fee
Ultimate$32Unlimited50 GBSentiment Scanner and Writing Assist, faster payments, priority support, free printed records, 2% payment fee

Annual billing saves 8% against paying monthly. Like OurFamilyWizard and AppClose, the price is per parent — a two-parent household on Essentials is paying two subscriptions, not one. Read 6 September 2026.

What TalkingParents is built to do

The product is a communication record with a calendar attached. Every plan includes secure messaging, a shared calendar, an Info Library and a personal journal, but the feature the whole thing is organised around is Accountable Calling: calls placed through the service and recorded, metered in minutes per tier. Records are described as permanent and unalterable; downloadable PDF records are unlimited from the Enhanced tier, and Ultimate includes printed records.

That is a genuinely different product category from a custody calendar, and it is priced like one. Feature names read from TalkingParents' own pricing page on 6 September 2026.

When TalkingParents is the right call

We are not going to pretend a calendar app replaces this. There are situations where a records-first platform is the correct tool and the cheaper option is a false economy:

  • A court order or your attorney names it. That settles it — use what the order says.
  • The communication itself is the dispute. Messages get denied, deleted or screenshotted out of context, and you need a channel neither of you can edit.
  • You need calls on the record, not only texts. Very few tools do this at all.
  • High-conflict co-parenting, where a neutral, observed channel measurably lowers the temperature — see the high-conflict parenting plan guide.
  • You are heading into a modification or enforcement and want a continuous record starting today rather than a reconstruction later — see the documentation guide and what courts accept.

If any of those describe you, the $7-a-month Essentials plan is a reasonable price for a permanent record, and the higher tiers exist for a reason.

When a calendar app is enough instead of TalkingParents

And there are just as many situations where a records platform is solving a problem you do not have. The tell is what you actually reach for your phone to check:

In our study of 804 separated parents (April to July 2026), 42% run a 50/50 split and, across the 665 schedule choices in the 2026 data, 46% are a custom pattern rather than a textbook one — the daily work is keeping a specific rotation straight, not litigating it. See the most common custody schedules and the split statistics.

TalkingParents next to SplitDay

SplitDayTalkingParents
PriceFree tier with banner ads; Pro $8.99/month, $44.99/year ($3.75 a month billed annually) or $99.99 once$7 / $16 / $32 per parent per month; annual billing saves 8%
Free tierYes, ad-supported, no time limitRetired 30 March 2026; fee waivers offered
BillingOne subscription runs your shared calendar. The co-parent you invite views it and messages you for free — editing needs their own plan.Per parent
Built aroundThe custody calendar and the parenting-time countRecorded, unalterable communication
Recorded callsNot offeredAccountable Calling: 30 min, 60 min or unlimited by tier
Rotation patternsEvery pattern built in, free, with one-off day overridesShared Calendar on all tiers; rotation patterns not described on the pages we checked
Holidays12 country preset packs, free; assigned holidays override the patternNot described on the pages we checked
Parenting-time scoreboardFree — running balance of nights on each sideNot described on the pages we checked
Custody-history exportCSV of the full history, freeUnlimited PDF records from Enhanced ($16 per parent per month); printed records on Ultimate
MessagingPro opens the shared household chat; the invited co-parent messages freeSecure messaging on all plans
Tone feedbackAI tone meter labels a draft friendly, neutral, harsh or hostile (5 checks a month free, 100 on Pro)Sentiment Scanner and Writing Assist on Ultimate
Useful before the other parent joinsYes — the calendar, scoreboard, log and CSV export all work soloNot stated on the pages we checked
App languages65Not stated on the pages we checked

Plenty of parents end up running both, and that is a perfectly sane answer: the records platform for the conversation, a calendar for the schedule. The comparison that matters is not which app wins — it is which of the two problems you actually have. The wider 2026 app comparison lines up five of them, and there are cost breakdowns for OurFamilyWizard, AppClose and Custody X Change too.

Frequently asked questions

Is TalkingParents free?

No. TalkingParents retired its free tier on 30 March 2026, so all three plans are paid: Essentials $7, Enhanced $16 and Ultimate $32 per parent per month, with annual billing saving 8%. Their pricing page does list fee waivers for people qualifying for financial assistance or domestic-violence assistance. Read 6 September 2026.

How much does TalkingParents cost per month?

$7 per parent per month for Essentials, $16 for Enhanced and $32 for Ultimate, with an annual option that saves 8%. The tiers differ mainly in Accountable Calling minutes (30, 60, unlimited), file storage (1 GB, 15 GB, 50 GB) and payment fees (4%, 3%, 2%); Enhanced adds unlimited PDF records and Ultimate adds Sentiment Scanner, Writing Assist and printed records. Verified 25 August 2026 and re-checked 6 September 2026.

Does TalkingParents record calls?

Yes. Their pricing page describes Accountable Calling, where calls are placed through the service and recorded, with the allowance metered by tier: 30 minutes a month on Essentials, 60 minutes on Enhanced and unlimited on Ultimate. Read 6 September 2026.

Can one parent use TalkingParents alone?

Their pricing page does not say either way, so we will not guess. What is clear from the product itself is that it is built around a two-party record — recorded calls, an unalterable message thread and shared records only mean something when there is a second party on the other end. SplitDay is built the other way round: one parent sets up the calendar, logs exchanges and exports the history without the other installing anything, and sharing is a later step, not a prerequisite.

What is a cheaper alternative to TalkingParents?

For a like-for-like records platform, AppClose is $83.88 for a year prepaid per parent, or $7.99 a month on the web, against $7 per parent per month for TalkingParents Essentials. If what you actually need is the custody calendar, the parenting-time count and an exportable log, SplitDay has a free ad-supported tier and Pro is $44.99 a year or $99.99 once — and it works with only one parent signed up.

If what you need is the calendar, start here

Every rotation pattern, the parenting-time scoreboard and holiday presets are on the free tier. Pro adds sharing, cloud sync and the report PDFs.

Already paying for a records platform? Keep it, and use SplitDay for the day-to-day count.

SplitDayGet the App